Paleo banana flax pancakes

Paleo banana flax pancakes cutThis was breakfast this morning. It’s by far my kids’ favourite breakfast. It’s easy to make and I can eat it without guilt because it’s not only gluten-free, it’s grain-free, dairy-free (if you use coconut oil rather than ghee) and free of refined sugar. Personally, I eat them with almond butter rather than maple syrup, though my kids (of course) go for the maple syrup. Either way, they’re delicious.

I used to make my flourless banana oatmeal pancakes a lot, but since my older daughter was diagnosed with celiac disease, she has been told not to eat even gluten-free oats, so I had to come up with a new version. This is what I’ve come with. It’s every bit as delicious as the oaty version, maybe even more so.

Paleo banana flax pancakesPaleo banana flax pancakes

Serves 2-4

  • 2 large ripe bananas, mashed with a fork
  • 4 eggs, beaten
  • 3/4 cup ground flaxseed
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon, optional
  • 1 tablespoon psyllium husk
  • Pinch of salt
  • Ghee or coconut oil for frying
  1. In a large bowl, mix together all ingredients except ghee/coconut oil.
  2. Heat a frying pan to medium and melt a small pat of ghee or coconut oil in it.
  3. Scoop large spoonfuls of batter into the frying pan and use spoon to flatten slightly.
  4. Flip when one side is browned. They’re done when both sides are browned. Serve with almond butter, maple syrup, or a heap of fresh berries (optionally a bit mashed if you want a bit more moisture). Especially if you use very rice bananas, you may find these are sweet enough not to need any kind of syrup.

Leave a comment